Stannington has changed considerably internally since its consecration in 1830. Outside there have been fewer alterations.
According to Kelly’s directory it was a Gothic building of stone, consisting of a nave, north and south aisles and a western turret containing one bell. There were box pews from the back wall to within a few feet of the twin pulpits, just in front of the altar rail. There were galleries on three sides. The choir sat in the west gallery where the organ was installed.
In 1881 the church was closed for five weeks for repainting, repairs and “warming appatus”. The cost was £300 and it seems this was the first significant expenditure since it was built.
A further renovation too place in 1892 at a cost of £234. A reopening service on June 24th was attended by 800 people. The Archbishop McClagen of York attended as it was also a confirmation service.
In 1919 The Sheffield Weekly News records that “the church’s interior can boast of no great beauty. ….The plain wooden gallery is all round the church and there is a cold barrenness which belongs to all churches which were built out of the Million Fund Scheme in the early 19th century when beauty of architecture or beauty in any shape or form was a minus quantity.”
The east window that is seen today originally came from St Michael and All Angels church, Neepsend, which was demolished in 1955.